• alt
    Quality
    Hairdressing
    Since
    1906
  • alt
    A New
    Experience
    In Gents
    Hairdressing
  • alt
    Modern & Traditional
    Cuts

The History of “Mr. Fred’s”

Founded 1906

QUINTON THOMAS SIMMONS (1872 – 1959)

Served his apprenticeship as a barber shop in The High, Oxford. Returned to Exeter after working at Oxford and Chesterfield and founded his own barber’s shop.

1906 – 1915 29 Paul Street

1916 – 1917 10 Goldsmith Street

1918 – 1921 Cullompton

1922 – 1931 105 Sidwell Street

1932 – 1933 91 Hollaway Street (Corner of Quay Lane)

1934 – 1945 30 Magdalen Street

GORDON CECIL BAGWELL (1912 – 1985) Stepson of Q.T.Simmons

Served his apprenticeship as a hairdresser in London during the 1930’s.

Worked in Bartholomew Street between 1934 and 1939 until called into H.M.Forces, with the Royal Tank Regiment, 8th Armp, in the Second World War. Returned to Exeter in 1945 to take over the business from his step-father.

1946 – 1967 30 Magdalen Street

1957 – 1981 81 Sidwell Street (additional premises)

1967 – 1985 52 South Street

FREDERICK GEORGE THOMAS

Served apprenticeship with C.G.Bagwell and took over the business upon his death in 1985.

KEVIN MICHAEL TREGALE

Served apprenticeship with C.G. Bagwell from 1977 to 1980 and took over the business from F.G.Thomas upon his retirement in 1997.